The world of aluminium and an artist to follow

If you looked thru THIS album I posted on my new Facebook page, you probably noticed one of the artist I tagged – Maria Barbaricum! The photo is just a detail of her work, but I was amazed with her art and, to be honest, very interested in the way she makes it.

IMG_5829

I bought myself a pair of her earrings and she gave me the ring for free as a birthday present. So I Barbaricumed myself already!

Maria Barbaricum

And for the last couple of days I’ve been wearing these and looking at them and thinking about them… So I decided to also give it a go! Dregona goes aluminium! 🙂

I always wanted to experiment with metal, because I love the simplicity of it and how it can be stunning and longlasting and just everything I want from a jewelry piece. Maria gave me a small board (under her jewelry on the photo above, 15 x 30 cm), but it should be enough for the first try. I already got all the tools I need and started to read about it online. Just have to make sure I won’t burn something or someone. My experiments are always interesting. Especially with fire. 😀

Besides getting ready for using this new material, thinking about safety precautions and what I’ll make for the giveaway I promised, I’m also preparing a post about Maria’s jewelry. Expect that soon!

Can’t wait to aluminiumize my work and write about it. 🙂

Until next post,

Dregona

PS: my cat salutes you

One thought on “The world of aluminium and an artist to follow

Leave a comment